Polymarket USHow to file

How to file Polymarket taxes

As of October 22, 2026, Polymarket US documents no tax export and no P&L statement, so a year is filed from your own data: the activity API for every trade and resolution, the execution records it keeps for 7 days, the balance ledger and CSV reports that start in May 2026, and the public price history for December 31. Then the totals go on the forms of the route you file under.

By Owen Monagan, Founder & CEOUpdated From Polymarket US’s API docs, reporting page, changelog and customer agreement

Filing Polymarket US at a glance

Checked October 22, 2026
Operator
QCX LLC d/b/a Polymarket US
Source
In-app tax export or P&L statement
None documented for retail accounts: the portfolio page describes cash balance, open positions and total account value
Source
When a 1099-B is issued
Not stated in the agreement: consent to electronic delivery only, with no threshold, date or issuance commitment
Source
Activity API
GET /v1/portfolio/activities: trades, position resolutions, deposits, withdrawals, rebates and transfers
Source
Execution records
Kept 7 days from July 16, 2026; stored execution history was reset in the August 27, September 1 and September 2, 2026 maintenance windows
Source
CSV reports
Documented for the institutional API, with a historical floor of May 1, 2026
Source
Price history
Public, keyed by market slug: book-derived Yes and No display prices, not trades, at intervals from 1H to ALL (ALL is three-hourly for newer markets)
Source

Which Polymarket

Which Polymarket does this cover, Polymarket US or polymarket.com?

Polymarket US, the dollar exchange run by QCX LLC. Polymarket.com is a separate product.

Every step below is for Polymarket US, operated by QCX LLC and designated a contract market by the CFTC on July 9, 2025. It trades in US dollars. Polymarket’s own docs set it apart from polymarket.com, the international product built on a blockchain, which has its own data and is not covered here.

Operator
QCX LLC d/b/a Polymarket US
Source
Designated
A contract market by the CFTC on July 9, 2025
Source
US and international, per the docs
International: “Crypto-based product on blockchain technology.” US: “Fiat-based, CFTC-regulated exchange. Trades in USD. Built for US residents.”
Source
Currency
US dollars
Source

What you get

What does Polymarket US give you at tax time?

An agreement clause that names a 1099-B, and no documented tax export.

The customer agreement has you consent to electronic delivery of tax forms, Form 1099-B included, and the portfolio page offers no export. Each Polymarket US document and what it says on tax is on Polymarket tax forms.

So the filing figures come from the account’s own data, in the six steps below: four to gather and price it, one to reconcile it, and one to put it on the forms. What each export holds, field by field, is on Polymarket trade history.

Step 1

How do you pull every Polymarket US trade from the activity API?

One feed holds trades, resolutions, cash movements and rebates. Sort them before you total anything.

The activity API, GET /v1/portfolio/activities, returns your trades, position resolutions, deposits, withdrawals, rebates and transfers. It needs an API key created at polymarket.us/developer; how that key works and what it can do is on Polymarket API key. Each item carries one of nine type names, which the schema describes only as a “Type of activity”. Sorting them by name is how Realize separates trading from cash:

Activity type namesHow Realize sorts them
TRADE, POSITION_RESOLUTIONPart of the trading result
ACCOUNT_DEPOSIT, ACCOUNT_ADVANCED_DEPOSIT, ACCOUNT_WITHDRAWAL, TRANSFERNot part of the trading result
TAKER_FEE_REBATE, REFERRAL_BONUS, LIQUIDITY_PROGRAMKept apart from trades
The nine type names in the Get Activities schema, checked October 22, 2026.

A trade also has a state, and busted and rejected are among its values, so check it before counting a trade as a fill. Its cost basis and realized P&L can come back empty, and it has no fee field, so a trade on its own may lack its basis and always lacks the fee you paid. Steps 2 and 3 fill those in; the full field list is on Polymarket trade history.

Step 2

Why export Polymarket US execution records within 7 days?

Executions carry the commission, and Polymarket US keeps them for a week.

An execution carries the commission the trade schema leaves out, and Polymarket US keeps executions for 7 days. Pull them on a schedule shorter than a week, since an execution not saved within that window is gone from this source; the changelog also records stored history being reset in three maintenance windows since. The retention dates in full are on Polymarket trade history.

For a week that was missed, the balance ledger in step 3 also carries fees, back to May 1, 2026.

Step 3

What do the Polymarket US balance ledger and CSV reports add?

The fees the trade schema leaves out, from May 2026 on.

The balance ledger, GET /v1/funding/balance-ledger/download, is a CSV of every cash balance change, fills and fees included. The reporting page lists CSV trade, execution, position and fee reports. Both serve nothing before May 1, 2026, and both are documented for the institutional API, so whether the key from step 1 reaches them is not stated.

DownloadWhat it holdsEarliest date
Balance ledger CSVEvery cash balance change, fills and fees includedMay 1, 2026 (endpoint added May 26)
Trade, execution, position and fee reportsCSV reports; the fee report’s columns are not describedMay 1, 2026
Statement downloadMulti-account summaries as CSV; contents not describedAdded January 4, 2026
From the reporting page and changelog, checked October 22, 2026. None of them is described as a tax statement.

A year that began before May 2026 has no CSV coverage for its first months, which leaves the activity API as the source for them.

Step 4

How do you price a Polymarket US position open on December 31?

From the public price history, which is built from display prices on the book, not trades.

Section 1256 treats a contract still open at the year end as sold at its fair market value, so for people filing that way every position held over December 31 needs a price for that day. The standard capital route reports a position only when it closes, and needs none. How the mark works is in the Section 1256 guide.

Polymarket US’s price history is public and keyed by the market’s slug, not its numeric id. Its Yes and No figures are display prices derived from the order book, not prices anything traded at, so a thin market can show a price no fill ever printed. Realize values a position open at the year end from this series at the end of the Eastern trading day, and leaves a market with no price that day off Form 6781 rather than mark it at a number it does not have.

Step 5

How do you reconcile Polymarket US trades, fees and resolutions?

Match each source against the others before a figure reaches a form.

CheckWhere it comes fromWhat to look for
Every fill countedTRADE activities against the balance ledger’s fillsEach ledger fill has a trade; from May 1, 2026
The fee on each fillExecution commission (7 days) or the ledger’s fee rowsThe trade schema has no fee field
Cost basisPrice and quantity of the trades that opened each lotcostBasis can be empty
Realized resultEach closed lot, sale less basisrealizedPnl can be empty
ResolutionsPOSITION_RESOLUTION activitiesNo settlement fee is listed
RebatesTAKER_FEE_REBATE from May 26, 2026; REFERRAL_BONUS beforeKept apart from trades
Cash movementsDeposits, withdrawals and transfersNot part of the trading result
Built from the Get Activities schema, the fee schedule and the changelog, checked October 22, 2026.

A taker fee leaves your balance when the trade executes and a maker rebate is credited at the fill. Realize treats a resolution as the sale of whatever was still open, at the payout, matches lots first in, first out, and keeps the fee on each fill apart from price so each route can place it. The fee formula, rebate tiers and where fees appear in each download are on Polymarket fees.

When charged
Only when a trade executes: taker fees are deducted from the balance at the trade, maker rebates credited at the fill
Source
Settlement
No fee listed
Source
Taker rebate credits
ACTIVITY_TYPE_TAKER_FEE_REBATE in the activity API, from May 26, 2026; earlier shown as a referral bonus
Source

Step 6

Which forms does a Polymarket US year go on?

It depends on the route, and the same Polymarket US data feeds all three.

There is no IRS guidance on how event contracts are taxed. Of the people we’ve seen file, these are the most common ways they file, and each takes the same reconciled Polymarket US data in a different shape:

RouteFormsWhat it takesA position open on December 31
Standard capitalForm 8949 and Schedule DEach closed lot: dates, proceeds and basisReported when it closes
Section 1256Form 6781The year’s net result, split 60% long-term and 40% short-termMarked at the December 31 price
GamblingSchedule 1 and Schedule AWinnings as income; losses only if you itemizeReported when it closes
Mechanisms only. The guides linked below cover each route in full.

With no Form 1099-B behind the trades, the IRS’s own forms name where unreported transactions go: Form 8949 boxes C and F, and Form 6781 part I, which asks filers to list each one separately.

For people filing as standard capital gains, the lots go line by line onto Form 8949, as the capital gains guide shows. For people filing under Section 1256 because of the 60/40 split, the year’s total goes on Form 6781. For people filing as gambling, the gambling guide covers Schedule 1 and the itemized loss. A losing year under each route is in the losses guide.

Questions

Questions people ask.

Does Polymarket US give you a tax export or a P&L statement?
None is documented for retail accounts. The portfolio page describes your cash balance, open positions and total account value, and the reporting page lists CSV trade, execution, position and fee reports with no tax, 1099, cost basis or P&L content.
Will Polymarket US send me a 1099-B?
Its customer agreement has you consent to electronic delivery of all tax forms, including IRS Form 1099-B, but states no threshold, date or commitment to issue one, and no page of its documentation mentions a 1099. A year can be filed from your own trade data either way.
How far back can I get my Polymarket US data?
The CSV reports and the balance ledger serve nothing before May 1, 2026, and execution records are kept 7 days. For anything earlier, the activity API is the source for trades and position resolutions.
Why is costBasis empty on some of my Polymarket US trades?
The activity API’s schema marks a trade’s costBasis and realizedPnl as nullable, so either can come back empty. The basis of a lot can be rebuilt from the price and quantity of the trades that opened it.
Can I use the Polymarket US price history for December 31?
It is the public series Polymarket US publishes, keyed by market slug, but it is built from Yes and No display prices on the book, not from trades. Realize values a position open at the year end from it, and leaves a market with no price that day off Form 6781.
Do I report polymarket.com and Polymarket US the same way?
This walkthrough covers Polymarket US only, the CFTC-designated exchange run by QCX LLC that trades in US dollars. Polymarket’s own docs describe polymarket.com as a separate, crypto-based product, and its data comes from a different place.

Sources15 documents

Where each fact comes from.

Every figure above links to one of these, read on the date shown.

Also on Realize

Before and after the filing.

The data behind each step, the key that reads it, and the tax side of the year.

Price your Polymarket US year three common ways.

Connect Polymarket US for a free estimate under each treatment.

Get started